5 Questions Answered: Flags and Banners CyberForum

Welcome to our first blog posting in the Flags and Banners Network!!!

golden flags

Darlene West is happy to give permission to use this flagging-in-action photo

HERE ARE THE QUESTIONS that we asked in this last CyberForum before Christmas 2014.

What would you answer?? If you don’t want to miss out in our next CyberForum, please contact us (go to the Contact Us page for our email addresses).

Darlene West, Andrew and Marie Bensley – ICDF Flags & Banners Network Coordinators

1. Do you mostly worship with flags: at home or church or prayer meeting or other?
2. Do you use your flags daily, weekly or monthly?
3. How many flags do you personally own?
4. What is your favorite flag at the moment and why?
5. Have you had a special ‘moment’ lately when your heart leaped while using flags?

6. Other sharing ?


HERE ARE SOME RESPONSES:

Janet (Canada)
– My heart is always impacted when raising the flag in praise and worship, but yes, just 2 days ago I was worshiping at home with the gold/red/green flags and found a breakthrough in the the desert that I’ve been experiencing for a few months.

-Today, during our church worship time, I began the time with the gold ones,welcoming God, calling down his glory, raising the banner to communicate to the people to alert themselves to His glory. The songs lyrics that were sung confirmed and mirrored my intercession through the flag. I was about to trade the gold ones for the white ones, when I noticed the son of a friend who carries a heart for Canada, he was searching for a flag but not settling on one, I offered him to use my white ones and he said yes. It was such a joy to my heart to see the young man raising the banners. I trust his father and mother were blessed as they observed him. The sweet love of God settled in and I raised the blue/burgundy flags,praising Him for his love and faithfulness. I believe He was victorious in touching hearts today. I love it! 🙂

Ann (United Kingdom)
At our “Dance in Worship” group – although we have a lovely space in the church building where we dance – the ceilings are too low for us to use flags, as we have to be careful of the lights!   So we dance with pom-pom shakers.  These are bright and colourful and can be used expressively too.   These are very good to use in Christian fellowship groups on movement for elderly people, as the shakers are easy to manage and hold.   When our ‘Dance in Worship’ group dances in churches we love to use flags then.  I have two shimmering ‘golden’ ones which I bought from Marie & Andrew’s stand at the Christian Resources Exhibition. The material is so light that it moves beautifully through the air.  I find it a joyful experience to dance with flags in the open air, which we’ve done in the past at a “Praise in the Park” Christian event.  It was so amazing dancing to praise music on the grass and in the sunshine.

Carol (United Kingdom)
Recently within my own church flags have been used at times of intercessory prayer.  An area shaped like the Middle East was taped onto the church floor and as we prayed we laid down specific flags.  I.e.  The Israeli flag and the Jerusalem flag as we prayed for Israel and the peace of Jerusalem in the height of the recent conflict.  At the end of the prayer session two purple flags, one with a Crown and the other with Jesus were placed over all.

Sandy (Canada)
In our fellowship, flags are used every Sunday.  Various congregation members of different ages, pick up a flag here and there, and join in mostly to the praise songs in the worship time.  There have been times that the young people really take off, and vigorously dance and flag, which we all love to see.  Then, there are times that I look around, and the grandmas have the flags, and they are expressing praise in the flagging.

Marrilea (Canada)
Our flags are available to everyone during our Sunday worship services, but they are almost exclusively used by children and teenagers.   As such, the flags we have available are easily used by little hands and shorter dancers.  Once in a while someone will choreograph a performance of the young dancers using the flags on a special occasion.

I think my heart leaps the most when I see another dancer, no matter what age, get lost in a worship song to Jesus.   Picture a little princess with a sparkly flag pulling her dad over to dance with her, and it is so beautiful.

Our church has been cautious in welcoming flags, but the children have really paved the way for people to be more comfortable with this style of worship.

Jacqueline ( Australia)
Child Like Faith: On Sunday 5/10/14 picking up my flags as a dashed out of my home and  jumping in to the car, heading for church for morning prayer.
Praise and worship time a little girl aged 3yrs, came to the place I stand the flags in church. Encouraging her I gave her the firer flag, and placed her out the front so all could see her, stepping back to watch her, boldlyshe start dancing with the flag, all eyes on her, blessing people with her praise to the Lord.
Proverbs  22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go. It gives me a joy in my heart to see children taking up a flag in church
Training of the next generation is so important,We are to be bold like this little one  moving forward in God.Faith like a child.

Brig (United Kingdom)
I use flags on some Sundays in the Church of England church we attend, and once a month outside the church building as part of our monthly Prayer Cafe outreach. Being away, I missed that last Prayer Cafe, and, interestingly, the team leader wrote to say that the warfare which goes on when I use flags close to where team members are inviting passers-by in for coffee, home-made cake and prayer, was noticeably missed. I also use flags regularly in the park opposite our house – our garden isn’t really big enough

Shena (United Kingdom)
Today was another special moment in my church. The youth joined my ladies dance and flag group.  We used the twirling flags using them symbolic to represent the flame of the Holy. Twirling them to a song called City of Lights. I feel so blessed as my Pastor and Church Leaders support this Ministry of praise and worship. They have made a place in the church and welcome spontaneous  worship every week. Even the toddlers have their own corner to dance and use flags in. The worship team include dance and flags at every rehearsal. It is incredible and often my heart is overwhelmed as the presence of The Lord fills the church. Praise Jesus for His promise of drawing close to His people as we draw close to him using our hearts, bodies and souls in worship in love and awe for all He is to each individual. Love Him Love Him Love Him. What a Great God we serve.

Gloria (Canada)
I think that my favourite locations for  using my flags are using them when I am holidays. There is something amazing about worshiping the Lord in the majestic mountains or on a beach with the sun setting.

My absolute favourite moments have been to place a flag into a person’s hands who has never worshiped before and watch the tears stream down their faces as they encounter the Lord in a most intimate and profound way. 
4 thoughts on “5 Questions Answered: Flags and Banners CyberForum

  1. Judy Saskiw says:

    Thanks for all these comments. I am really getting it…how flags work in many different ways in church. Our church service is held in a movie theatre. We have a large assortment of flags in the front and a few young people enjoy worshipping using them. At another location where we had our church, in a school gym, one lady and I flagged blessings and prayers over the congregation by dancing up and down the isles. That was a very special time.

    • icdfnetworks says:

      Hi Judy, thanks for sharing. Using flags in a movie theatre setting and a school gymnasium setting! Those rooms are quite different. I’m trying to picture what that might look like. I see the theatre as having only a narrow space at the front, and the gym as being like an open field! Those are 2 extremes!

      Thanks,

      Darlene

      • Judy Saskiw says:

        In the theatre, there is a big enough space to the side of the screen. Our flaggers don’t move much, but the flags are a real boost when they are flying.The gym, when we were in it a few years ago, provided lots of room for us to flag up and down the isles. These are the two venues our church has and is being held. Our leadership and we, the church, do not want to get bogged down with buildings and we want to be in with the community…going where they are…making the place we hold church a familiar place for people.

Please Leave a Comment here...

